Explore the growing digital archive of deaf history in Australia.
Video: A Sense of Belonging

A film showcasing the rich Deaf History of Tasmania. In 1899 the first school for the blind was opened, and in 1904 Deaf children were welcome to attend. From 1904 – 1987 Hobart Blind and Deaf Institute was the only school dedicated for the Deaf in Tasmania, providing education and boarding for their students. Watch the stories from those who attended the institute, sharing their memories and the importance of community and the sense of belonging.
Please note this video contains stories of abuse and audism that may be distressing to viewers.

SOURCE
Copyright (2003) Expression Australia (Tasmanian Deaf Community). Used with permission.

Welcome to the Deaf History Collections

We acknowledge the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and pay our respects to Elders past and present. We extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander visitors to our site, recognising the long, rich, complex and unjustly disregarded histories of First Nations peoples in Australia.
Continue to the website

Feedback

If you have feedback, information to add, or see an error that needs to be fixed on this page, use this form. There are two ways: write a message or send us a video message.
Write a message
Send us a video message
Close Button